Archive for February 4, 2011

Call to Action : OH Legislature Going at it Again – Part 2

February 4, 2011 Comments off

It appears that a similar bill was introduced in the Ohio Senate in Nov. 2010. Senate Bill 316 was proposed by Senators: Seitz, Miller, D. Wagoner, Grendell, Turner, and Smith.

Senate Bill 316 is “to clarify for an offender or delinquent child who had SORN Law duties under the SORN Law in effect prior to January 1, 2008, the offender’s or child’s duties under the current SORN Law and the duration of those duties and to declare an emergency.”

Those who are concerned about this attempt to retroactively re-capture (onto the sex offender registries) all offenders whose crimes pre-dated the 2008 law change, should immediately contact these Senators to voice your opposition.

SB 316 Sponsors:

Bill Seitz (R)
Phone: (614) 466-8068

Mark Wagoner (R)
Phone: (614) 466-8060

Tim Grendell (R)
Phone: (614) 644-7718

Nina Turner (D)
Phone: (614) 466-4583

Shirley A. Smith (D)
Phone: (614) 466-4857

The intent of SB 316 and HB 77 is to:

“Create a list of all the sex offenders who were reclassified via the 2010 Bodyke ruling, notifying them all by mail, and forcing them into court one at a time to have a judge issue a new Adam Walsh Act sentencing order. It would re-reclassify all of these individuals into the AWA tier scheme, adding thousands to the registry, many for life.”

Both of these bills will be debated within the respective House & Senate Criminal Justice Committees. Readers should contact the members of this committee in order to voice your opposition to these bills.

Senate Criminal Justice Committee (re: SB 316)

Tim Grendell (R)

Larry Obhof (R)
Vice Chair

Nina Turner (D)
Ranking Minority Member

Eric Kearney (D)

Frank LaRose (R)

Peggy Lehner (R)

Scott Oelslager (R)

Joe Schiavoni (D)

Mark Wagoner (R)

House Criminal Justice Committee ( re: HB77)

Criminal Justice
Name Party Position Name Party Position
Lynn Slaby R Chair Roland Winburn D Ranking Minority Member
Bill Hayes R Vice Chair Nancy J. Garland D Member
Louis W. Blessing, Jr. R Member Connie Pillich D Member
Danny R. Bubp R Member W. Carlton Weddington D Member
William P. Coley, II R Member Sandra Williams D Member
Joseph W. Uecker R Member

Ron Young R Member