Archive for February 7, 2011

OH: House Trying to Retroactively Classify Past Offenders (Again)

February 7, 2011 Comments off

As we posted last week, The Ohio House of Representatives has proposed a new bill (HR 77)

If this bill passes, anyone who had not yet matriculated off of the sex offender registry by January 1, 2008 would be hauled back into court for a second sex offender classification hearing where a judge would instate a new sex offender classification. The result of this bill would be exactly what Senate Bill 10 did in 2008 (to reclassify those who should have graduated off of the registry and impose new registry requirements on them, often a life-long registration requirement).

HB 77 is to be debated in the House Criminal Justice Committee on Wed. Feb, 9, 2011 at 9 am. Everyone affected or concerned with this matter should attend this hearing at The Ohio Statehouse in Columbus Ohio. (update Feb 8: we are told by Rep. Slaby’s assistant that only sponsors will participate in this first hearing, and that opponents will not be permitted to participate).

The hearing is open to the public and opposing opinions are allowed. Just fill out the witness form when you enter the statehouse. If you have any written information for the record, you should submit it as well.

If we act proactively and if we have a large number of people attend this hearing, we can avoid a repeat of the 2-1/2 year debacle which we experienced with the implementation of Senate Bill 10 from Jan 2008 through June 2010 when it was finally ruled to be illegal.

We have a good chance to defeat this bill before it advances to a vote. But only if we have others willing to join in the fight, appear at the hearing and communicate your opposition to the bill.

In the meantime, readers should contact the bill’s sponsors and Committee members to clearly express their opposition to this House Bill 77, which would retroactively classify anyone with a sex offense who was not removed from the ESORN sex offender registry before January 1, 2008. This retroactive bill is a violation of the U.S. and Ohio Constitutions which expressly forbid any ex post facto law. It also violates constitutional rights of the Double Jeopardy clause of both Constitutions.

Bill Sponsors:

Hackett Garland Blessing Combs Grossman Hottinger Patmon

Bob D. Hackett, Representative
Phone: (614) 466-1470
Fax: (614) 719-6984

Nancy J. Garland, Representative
Phone: (614) 644-6002
Fax: (614) 719-6959

Louis W. Blessing, Jr., Speaker Pro Tempore
Phone: (614) 466-9091
Fax: (614) 719-3583

Courtney Combs, Representative
Phone: (614) 644-6721
Fax: (614) 719-6954

Cheryl L. Grossman, Assistant Majority Whip
Phone: (614) 466-9690
Fax: (614) 719-6962

Jay Hottinger, Representative
Phone: (614) 466-1482
Fax: (614) 719-3971

Bill Patmon, Representative
Phone: (614) 466-7954
Fax: (614) 719-0010

Criminal Justice Committee:

Lynn Slaby R Chair
Phone: (614) 644-5085
Fax: (614) 719-6941

Roland Winburn D Ranking Minority Member
Phone: (614) 466-2960
Fax: (614) 719-6940

Bill Hayes R Vice Chair
Phone: (614) 466-2500
Fax: (614) 719-6991

Nancy J. Garland D
Phone: (614) 644-6002
Fax: (614) 719-6959

Louis W. Blessing, Jr. R
Phone: (614) 466-9091
Fax: (614) 719-3583

Connie Pillich D
Phone: (614) 466-8120
Fax: (614) 719-3582

Danny R. Bubp R
Phone: (614) 644-6034
Fax: (614) 719-6988

W. Carlton Weddington D
Phone: (614) 466-5343
Fax: (614) 719-3581

William P. Coley, II R
Phone: (614) 466-8550
Fax: (614) 719-6955

Sandra Williams D
Phone: (614) 466-1414
Fax: (614) 719-0011

Joseph W. Uecker R
Phone: (614) 466-8134
Fax: (614) 719-3966

Ron Young R Member
Phone: (614) 644-6074
Fax: (614) 719-3963